The Wonders of Cauliflower ‘Rice’

caulirice

above: vegetarian chilli and cauliflower rice

Generally I am very sceptical of dietary trends and don’t tend to pay too much attention to them. Every week there seems to be a new ‘superfood’ of some description, and some trends, in their ignorance, verge on being downright harmful. There are, however, a few things that catch on that are innovative — or at least imaginative — and one of these is the use of grated cauliflower as a rice or couscous substitute.

In India, the gobi is a much-revered vegetable, and I think it very sad that here in the West cauliflower is so often relegated to being smothered in a cheesy, non-descript sauce. It has so much more going for it.

…So why not try it for yourself?

The texture is wonderful, it is filling (and only 30kcal/cup!), and vitally, it is good for you. My main critique is that the vegetable retains quite a lot of water, which, if not dealt with, can end up turning things a little too juicy. John Whaite recommends lightly frying beforehand, which works well, and it can also be strained with kitchen towels if you wish to keep it raw.

9 thoughts on “The Wonders of Cauliflower ‘Rice’

    1. Yes, the kale trend was particularly funny. Although kale *is* good for you (much like any other green vegetable), it was quite a transition seeing it going from being a loathed ‘hungry gap’ fodder plant to being a much-revered ‘superfood’. I like the stuff myself, but I wouldn’t dream of spending hours massaging it or whatever it is people do these days… Haha 🙂

      Like

      1. I must say I am a kale massager and as you can see quinoa eater but somehow I’ve convinced myself I’m not like those vegan/paleo food bloggers… I don’t know how. Delusion probably.

        Like

      2. The curly stuff can be a bit tough to chew, but I don’t think the other varieties really need it, personally. Quinoa is a happy and healthy grain that tastes nice and has interesting texture, though I’m troubled by the impact market forces are having on populations who depend on it as a staple.

        I think it’s important to try things, I suppose the differential is in the smugness and righteousness that occasionally comes with certain food territories. That 20% indulgence is important 😉

        Like

      3. I completely agree with you. Although I have found that kale tastes less, and this is the technical term, “farty” with a bit of massaging. And again I do have a problem with quinoa and its popularity affecting the Bolivians but I wonder if there are two sides to the argument. In my “not another quinoa salad” post I rather boringly go into it a bit. But anyway, it’s nice to find a fellow human who likes kale, cauliflower and the politics surrounding quinoa.

        Like

      4. Haha – maybe I should revisit the brassica with some sensuous hands, then! 😉 There are some wonderful, easily-foraged alternatives I’ll be addressing in this blog if you get fed up of the kale, just got to wait a little longer for things to start sprouting again!

        RE: quinoa I’ll go and have a read, thanks 🙂 – and yes, definitely, I’m going to look forward to reading your posts. Thanks for the follow, and keep in touch 🙂

        Like

      1. You can buy a steam ready frozen bag and cook them in the microwave. Once hot, put in a food processor or blender with olive oil/ghee/almond milk/whichever you prefer, some garlic, salt and pepper! Of course you can also buy fresh cauliflower and chop it up and steam it as well

        Like

Leave a Reply

